I am going to Africa Burn at the end of April this year.  I am almost unbearably excited about it.  James, a friend of mine since my teeage years, is going too.  He has build a dome to sleep in which feels amazing to be inside of.  We are wanting to make an art piece of this dome and since I am an art teacher I am giving my 40 off my students the opportunity to each paint a panel of this dome.

“Mirage”, a beautiful theme for the 5 day stay in the Karoo desert, will be the theme of this dome too.  I am thinking optical illusions for the panels or perhaps “water, land and sky” in layers around the dome.

I love to start projects no matter how daunting but long for the day I can see it standing finished before me!  Its like a craving for chocolate but infinatley more exciting.

I have e-mailed the notice in to be put in the school’s weekly notice and have announced the idea  in assembly.  Now to source the fabric and paint. Any ideas readers? Goodness this is nerve-racking but so exciting.  I just want to lay out the fabric and dip that brush in the paint – the vibrant colour, the smell, the texture of creamy fabric paint.  How wonderful! Perhaps I shall have only 39 children so that I too can paint a panel.

I’ll keep you posted whenever there is something new to post!

Today I found out that James has the fabric and the panels will be ready to paint by Sunday evening so….let’s paint!  We are both keen on using the zentangle idea.  I am keen on blue paint being used on the white fabric.  Its going to be interesting and cool!  Soon as we start – I’m hoping for Monday- I’ll be posting pics as we go.  Hold thumbs for us.

Click this link to see the little movie I made about this experience:   http://youtu.be/G3HT56-zwAs

 

